The following information is provided in response to a question from the Cullen Commission on Money Laundering in British Columbia, in relation to the membership of Criminal Intelligence Service Canada (CISC).

CISC was established in 1970 to unite the Canadian criminal intelligence community at municipal, provincial and federal levels to effectively and efficiently combat organized crime and serious crime with a nexus to organized crime affecting Canada.

In 2011, the National Executive Committee adopted the Canadian Law Enforcement Strategy to Combat Organized Crime. It is a collaborative effort of intelligence and operations nationally to detect, reduce, disrupt and prevent organized and serious crime in Canada through the timely sharing of information and intelligence.

CISC consists of a Central Bureau in partnership with the ten Provincial Bureaus. It is administered under the stewardship of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, as part of National Police Services. CISC Central Bureau is located in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The Criminal Intelligence Service British Columbia/Yukon Territory is the provincial bureau representing the Province of British Columbia and is located in Surrey, B.C.

Membership in CISC is intended to reflect the broad and diverse composition of the law enforcement community to facilitate a united approach to address organized crime and serious crime with a nexus to organized crime at the municipal, regional, provincial and national levels. The privilege of membership in CISC shall be granted by the Provincial Executive Committee responsible for the operation of the Provincial Bureau.

CISC Member Agencies include: Category I - Police Agency. Category II - Agency with Specific Law Enforcement Role. Category II (a) — Exemption provided by the National Executive Committee (NEC). Category III - Agency with Role Complementary to Law Enforcement.

Membership of CISBC/YT is as follows:

Category I Agencies

Abbotsford Police Department

Central Saanich Police Service

Combine Forces Special Enforcement Unit - British Columbia (CFSEU-BC)

Delta Police Department

Metro Vancouver Transit Police

Nelson Police Department

New Westminster Police Service

Oak Bay Police Department

Port Moody Police Department

Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)

Saanich Police Department

Vancouver Police Department

Victoria Police Department

West Vancouver Police Department

Category II Agencies

BC Conservation Officer Service (Ministry of Environment)

BC Hydro

BC Securities Commission

BC Sheriff Services (Ministry of the Attorney General)

Canada Post Corporation - Security & Investigations Services Pacific Region

Canada Revenue Agency - Enforcement Division

Canadian Bankers Association - Centralized Financial Consumer Intelligence Unit

Canadian Border Services Agency - Pacific Region (CBSA)

Canadian Food Inspection Agency - Enforcement & Investigation Services

Canadian Forces National Counter Intelligence Unit

Canadian Forces National Investigation Service Military Police Counter-Intelligence Program

Canadian National Railway Police Service

Canadian Pacific Police Service

Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS)

Canada Transportation Agency, Gov Canada

Correctional Service Canada (CSC)

Environment Canada - Wildlife/Environmental Enforcement

Financial Transactions & Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC)

Fisheries & Oceans - Pacific Region

Gaming Policy & Enforcement Branch (Ministry of Public Safety & Solicitor General)

Insurance Bureau of Canada - Investigative Service Division (BC)

Insurance Corporation of BC (ICBC) - Special Investigation Unit

Liquor & Cannabis Regulation Branch, Ministry of Attorney General, Gov BC (formerly Liquor Control & Licensing Branch)

Passport Canada (formerly Citizenship & Immigration Canada)

Revenue Programs Divisional Investigation Unit - Ministry of Finance (formerly Consumer Tax Branch)

Transport Canada - Security & Emergency Preparedness